Meet Sugar Magnolia


Welcome to my blog, my cozy little corner of the internet! I am a 45 year old mother of two wonderful children. My son, D, is 11 years old and in 6th grade. My daughter, A, is 9 years old and is in 3rd grade. A was born with a ton of medical issues, which I have summarized here. I write a lot about parenting issues, not only as they relate to my daughter's special medical needs but the challenges and joys of parenting in general. My husband, J, has Young-Onset Parkinson's Disease, and last year had a heart attack, and sometimes I write about that as well.  The medical issues of my family keep me on my toes. (I also lost my mother to ovarian cancer last year too).

Additionally, I am  a triathlete.  I started running in 1998 and ran for years.  I took a break for a few years, then rediscovered running, and then triathlon, in 2010.To date I have completed a full marathon, 20++++ half marathons, 3 half-Ironmans, with tons of smaller distance races in between, not to mention a century bike ride and a few 2.4 mile ocean swims!  I have a long-term goal of completing my first (and likely only) full Ironman, Ironman Texas, in 2020.  I also write a recap after each race. This is not one of those blogs where I write about each workout that I do. Rather, I write about issues as they come up for me, whether they be challenges, goals, or realizations.

In my spare time, I love to cook, and am always looking for new vegetarian recipes to try. I enjoy reading, listening to music, and will watch the occasional TV show. I am also a Girl Scout leader.  Whatever I do, I tend to be passionate about.

Thank you for reading my blog!

Contact me here